Antenna experiment

No picture yet, but while I am waiting on some magnets and plate metal to come in I am building a portable 40 meter monoband dipole.  I have cut two five foot PVC pipes (1.75 dia) and wound 50 feet of 14 ga. speaker wire around each. To assist with tuning I have also added some recycled police band 2 meter whips to the ends.  The whips will be able to go inside the pipes for storage and adjust out for resonance.  Next day off the tuning begins.  The target frequency is about 7.125 mhz.  I am hoping to be able to tune the antenna from the digital to the voice with minor adjustments, of the whips.

About riffran

Ham radio cooking sci fi and politics and movies. In the Texas. State Guard and am an ER nurse
This entry was posted in amateur radio. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Antenna experiment

  1. riffran says:

    A bit of an update…. I put the dipole together and it tuned to 3.7 MHz …. Huh? I adjusted the winding a bit on the coils and it changed to 4.3 MHz *sigh* I need to do a lot of work to get it to tune to where I want it.

Leave a Reply

